RSS

Sample swatch Houndstooth design – Interlocking crochet – Intermeshing Crochet – Double Filet Crochet

26 Jun

HTA

 

I have been trying to come up with a design that looks like houndstooth, using the technique of intermeshing crochet / interlocking crochet. Some of my results have not exactly come close to true houndstooth, but this one is pretty good, so I thought I’d share it!
As usual for intermeshing crochet, the fabric is reversible. However, there are two different designs, one on each side of the swatch.

HTB
I found a really good tutorial on how to weave the simplest version of houndstooth known as pinwheel and puppytooth https://liliandmums.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/how-to-weave-the-houndstooth-pattern/
I then created a chart based on the woven cloth to work from. I did not realise that I had reversed the motif, until after I had worked the swatch!

HT1

 

I also created a chart for a larger version of the design…

ht2
I think the larger version of the design would be great on a blanket/Afghan.

This sample is worked over 32 cells col A , 31 cells col B, in 4 ply acrylic using 3mm hook, and measures 8” X 7” (not blocked). Should I work this design again, I think I will use a larger hook, as I tend to work quite tightly.

 

 



 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
