RSS

Polish Star Crochet – Cushion – Throw Pillow

25 May

IMG_1503b

There is such a lot of chatter about the polish star design, I just had to give it a try. I knew it was somewhat like Jacobs Ladder but that is all I knew about it. I did some research and found that there are at least three different ways of crocheting the mesh. Someone even suggested that the treble stitch can be used instead of the extended double crochet stitch (edc) – I would advise against this, the treble stitch is far too long. I used the extended double crochet stitch, which is the normal stitch used to work the polish star.

What is an extended double crochet?

I also found a great video (shown below) which was very helpful overall. However, the chart shown in the video is quite confusing as it tries to show both the crocheting instructions and the weaving. I created my own simple chart to work from and after working a swatch. I decided to increase the number of chains in each loop from the 10 chains shown in the video, to 12 chains. This produced a much better finish.
Cushion/Throw pillow measures 20” X 20”.

For this project:
Yarn Type: 250g of DK yarn in black and 100g of DK yarn in white.
Needles: 4.50mm crochet hook and stitch holders.
Cushion/pillow pad 20” X 20” (firm over stuffed)

mesh

For the front of my Cushion:
Using the black yarn, I crocheted a foundation row of 83 chains. Then counting the first 3 ch as 1 edc, I worked 80 edcs in mesh for a total of 35 rows, securing the final chain on stitch holder.

diagonal

The weaving technique shown in the video was quite easy to follow and I attempted to follow the instructions. However, I missed a few loops and had to start the row again twice. I found that weaving the loops diagonally was the easiest way to do it. I also used a crochet hook to weave, instead of my fingers as shown in the video.

progress1

When weaving diagonally, it is easy to ensure that all loops are going in the right direction and you can easily spot any missed loops or errors, making the whole process very easy.

progress2

Although I found the mesh very simple quick and easy to crochet, I also found it very annoying as it was quite difficult to handle/control. I found that I had to weave it part way through the mesh process in order to make it easier to handle. After weaving, I secured the loops on stitch holders and continued to crochet the mesh until the desired length (35 rows) was reached.
I wanted my cushion to have a black border surrounding it, so for row 36, I worked the 80 edcs using the white yarn, omitting the mesh loops. For the 37th row, I worked 80 edcs using the black yarn, omitting the mesh loops but working the edcs through the loops of previous black row to secure the final stars.

 polishfinished1

The finished fabric looks great and it is very thick. To finish off the front, I crocheted one row of 80 edcs along the left and right side of the fabric and fastened off.

For the back of my Cushion:
Using the black yarn, I crocheted a foundation of 83 chains, then worked 37 rows of 80 extended double crochets and fastened off. The resulting fabric has a nice ridged texture and is perfect for the back of the cushion as it is plain yet interesting.

To join back and front:
Using the black yarn with front and back together, right side facing and working through both the back and front, I ch1, and worked sc in each surrounding edc and 4 sc in each corner edc, until three sides are joined together. I then inserted the pad and continued around to join the fourth side, then sl st, in the top of beginning ch, fastened off and weaved in the ends.

I did not create an opening to remove the cover for cleaning. Both the yarn and pad are synthetic, making the whole thing machine washable.

The finished project looks really great!

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
