RSS

Flower Motif – Intermeshing – Double Filet Crochet- Interlocking crochet

23 Jun

IMG_0116 IMG_0120

Still experimenting with charts using the technique of intermeshing – double filet; I copied this design directly from a knitted bag; I took a photograph of the bag and created a chart to work from, I could have written a pattern but written patterns can be complicated, long-winded and difficult to follow. I find charts quick, easy to follow and to work out where tweaking will be required. The original design on the bag consisted of the flower head, the stem and the leaves ( I used only the flower head). There were other flower designs on the bag and I will have a go at reproducing them in the future.

Note that the tension in this sample motif is deliberately loose to ease any adjustments required. I always work a swatch to adjust the tension prior to commencing any project.

To make my sample motif:

Yarn Type: 4 ply Acrylic machine knitting yarn, left over from a previous project.

Needles: 3.75mm crochet hook.

Method:Work a foundation row of 20 cells in colour A and 19 cells in colour B, and follow the chart.

 

Flower


 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Flower Motif – Intermeshing – Double Filet Crochet- Interlocking crochet

  1. Arielle

    November 24, 2014 at 2:55 am

    How do you work color b in the graph?

     
    • blaze2014

      November 25, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      Hi Arielle

      I’m not sure if you’re asking in general how to work colour B using the technique of intermeshing or if you’re asking about a particular part of the chart. If you want to learn the technique I would advise this video http://www.interlockingcrochet.com/video-tutorials/interlocking-crochet-video-tutorials.html

       
      • Arielle

        November 26, 2014 at 3:05 am

        Thank you for getting back so soon. I know how to do intermeshing, just having a very hard time using charts in this technique. I know how to do the single filet and would like to do interlocking but working with the second color in the chart is where I am having a hard time. I really like the work you have done with the intermeshing.

         
  2. blaze2014

    November 29, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    Hi Arielle

    Intermeshing crochet and interlocking crochet are the same technique and it requires you to work
    with two separate filet mesh at the same time, one mesh at the back (colour B) and one mesh at the front (colour A). The link I sent in my last reply shows you how to move between the two colours. However, if you’re asking how to work from the chart?…. Each cell in the chart represents a cell in your filet mesh therefore, you work the number of cells shown in colour A , then when the chart call for a colour change in the next cell you bring colour B forward by working the next colour A dc. through the back of the colour B cell – I would suggest that you practice on a more simple design like my Snowflake throw pillow you only need a foundation row of 14 cells in colour A and 13 cells in colour B to work one snowflake. I’m really  glad you like my work and hope that this is of some help to you.

     
  3. Arielle

    December 28, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    I am trying to do my own patterns now and I am still having a hard time with color b not working out. Is there anyway maybe you can write out the snowflake pattern for just one snowflake for me? Maybe then I might get it.

     
  4. Arielle

    January 30, 2015 at 6:21 pm

    Thank you so much for writting out the snowflake pattern for one motif. This helped out so much!!
    Thank you!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
