RSS

Knitted Scrap Yarn Scarf

23 Feb

aIMG_0562 aIMG_0563

 

Having made my Cowl, I was left with a small amount of very pretty yarn, which by itself, was of very little use. I found some off-white/cream coloured yarn in my scrap box that would complement the variegated yarn used to make the Cowl, but there was still only a small amount of yarn. The colours looked so well together that I just had to make something with them! I decided to make a short scarf that I thought would just be long enough to reach around my neck and tuck into my coat. It turned out to be much longer than I expected and looks really nice!

To make my scarf:

Yarn Type: DK Acrylic variegated yarn dappled with muted shades of green, peach and beige, plus off white/cream yarn, both left over from a previous project.

Needle Type: UK size no. 8 (4.00mm) circular knitting needles.

Method: Cast on 120 stitches and work 30 row bands of plain knit (stocking stitch), first in the variegated colour then 30 rows in the off/white colour. Repeat until the resulting tube-shaped fabric measures 58 inches, finishing with the variegated colour.
Work a further 3 rows kitting 2 stitches together each time.
Next Row: Knit 2 stitches together each time while casting off.
Next Row: Pick up 120 stitches at cast on edge then work 3 rows knitting 2 stitches together each time.
Next Row: Knit 2 stitches together each time while casting off. This has the effect of rounding off the ends of the scarf.
Then add what looks like a cross between a fringe and a pompom to finish it off (too large to be called a tassel).



 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2014 in Knitting, Scarf

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
