RSS

My “Peppermint Passion” Afghan – Intermeshing – Double Filet – Interlocking Crochet

14 Dec

IMG_0146  IMG_0001

Intermeshing – Double Filet Crochet (AKA Interlocking crochet)

Intermeshing is the technique of making two Filet Crochet Mesh Fabrics at the same time, so that that although they are structurally separate, they are permanently “intermeshed” with each other; the resulting fabric is stretchy and a little thicker than normal crochet. It is also possible to intermesh more than two Filet Mesh Fabrics.

I learned to intermesh double filet as a child, the technique was used to make table mats and I very soon became bored with it. Recently I decided to give intermeshing another try however, I found that the technique had been renamed “Interlocking Crochet” and the only designs I could find were in a book of the same name by Tanis Galik http://www.interlockingcrochet.com/ I bought the book and crocheted a sample of every design; it’s a very good book and I would recommend it to all beginners. I then came across a wonderful design by Kyle Calderhead http://gallery.bridgesmathart.org/exhibitions/2012-bridges-conference/kcalderhead which inspired me to try to create my own designs; I now find creating the design to be the most interesting part of any project.

This is my first design using the technique of Intermeshing – Double Filet and I am quite pleased with the Afghan which measures 35” X 64”.

The yarn used is 4 Ply Acrylic for machine knitting and size 3.75mm crochet hook. The colours used are “Peppermint” and “Bottle Green”.



 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
